Day 4 – More doing!

06Apr14

20140406-213831.jpg

Finally, I’ve managed to get the battery on this phone down to low! šŸ™‚

I’ve taken 6 photos, made a bunch of phone calls, learned about Vivaldi on Radio 3, listened to podcasts and sent texts. I’ve done it all increasingly quickly as that old muscle memory wakes up and I really don’t feel I’ve missed out on anything. The 301’s still firmly in the honeymoon phase.

There are a couple of niggles but they really fall into the category of “First world problems”

1. I couldn’t see where Alice was when I was waiting for her to walk to meet me with Loki today. On the iPhone I had find my friends.

2. I haven’t found an easy way to sync the contacts yet even though I’ve read of others doing it. Instead I’ve added people I actually need which has led to another interesting insight. I have people in my phone I’ve not worked with for nearly 10 years!

Things have moved on a bit since then and I’m not too worried that if I don’t have their phone number instantly to hand I won’t be able to find them again/ get in touch via Facebook, Linked In, even Flickr. 10 years ago I remember talking to a friend who was working on future concepts with Vodafone and they were talking about ways of being notified on your phone that your friends were close.

Now apps like Cloak can help you avoid people you don’t want to see, and that’s a whole book in itself regarding human behaviour, and Instagram and others can show me where friends have been moments later! I’m not sure that before Twitter I’d have even imagined people would go for it. It seemed pretty crazy talking about it on the corner of Nairoji Street in London back in 2004.

By contrast, take this phone back to me in 2004 and I’d have deemed it the obvious evolution of the phone. Cheap, good on battery, an amazing camera compared to what I had then and some sort of unified charger standard. Bonkers, innit šŸ™‚

No Responses Yet to “Day 4 – More doing!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

