Day 2

07Jan09

 

CAN HAZ DESKTOP!

CAN HAZ DESKTOP!

Well … I’m making progress. Ubuntu 8.10 wouldn’t install on the machine hanging very early on I think related to Wireless card issues. Suse is now my new best friend and has loaded in no problem! I have a wireless card, it makes noises and I even have the productivity tool I really wanted totry called Gnome Do

So where to from here? Well! I’m dual booting with Vista – which is a dog, More on that later 😉 You may notice from the screen shots that everything is a bit big and a bit wide. That’s because it’s 1024 x 768 on a 1366 x 768 screen and Nvidia’s drivers aren’t included by default so next step will be to convince the laptop that it has an Nvidia chipset in it and that it can use that to draw pretty graphics 🙂

Watch this space!

No Responses Yet to “Day 2”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

